IFLA

As of 22 April 2009 IFLA has a totally redesigned new website

This old website and all of its content will stay on as archive – http://archive.ifla.org

IFLANET home - International Federation of Library Associations and InstitutionsActivities and ServicesSearchContacts


Cataloguing Section

ISBD Review Group

Invitation to:
World-Wide Review of
"ISBD(ER): International Standard Bibliographic Description"
2004 revision

(Comments were due by by May 1, 2004)

In the early 1990s, IFLA's Division of Bibliographic Control set up a Study Group on the Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records (FRBR). Following adoption of the Study Group's recommendations, the ISBD Review Group was charged to initiate a full-scale review of the ISBDs. The objective of this project was to ensure conformity between the provisions of the ISBDs and FRBR's data requirements for the "basic level national bibliographic record" (BLNBR).

In the ISBDs, national bibliographic agencies are called upon to prepare the definitive description containing all the mandatory elements set out in the relevant ISBD insofar as the information is applicable to the publication being described. To facilitate implementation of this principle, the ISBDs designate as "mandatory" those data elements that are always to be included in records prepared by national bibliographic agencies, as "conditional" those that must be included under certain circumstances but that need not be included otherwise, and as "optional" those that may be included if desired but that are not required. Therefore, the main task in pursuing this revision project has entailed a close examination of the ISBD data elements that are mandatory to make optional those that are also optional in FRBR. (In no case is a data element mandatory in FRBR but optional in the ISBDs.)

The updated version of the ISBD(ER) is now available at:

Download in Adobe PDF format Download the revised version of "ISBD(ER)"

In addition to the changes resulting from the work outlined above, this version of ISBD(ER), introduces some changes in terminology. Among them is the use of the term "resource" rather than "item" or "publication". "Resource" is given a specific definition in 0.2. It was decided, because FRBR is a conceptual model and does not map exactly to terminology in the ISBDs, that FRBR terminology should not be used. The use of the former term "item" is different from the term "item" as used in FRBR, but it is not difficult to confuse them. This led to the decision to use "resource". The ISBD Review Group feels that it is essential for IFLA to clarify the relationship between the ISBDs and the FRBR model. The Group believes that development of a table to detail the relationship of each of the elements specified in the ISBDs to its corresponding entity attribute or relationship as defined in the FRBR model would satisfy the need to make clear that the ISBDs and FRBR themselves enjoy a harmonious relationship. Towards this end, a project has been proposed and funding for it is being sought. Those who comment on ISBD(ER) are invited to share their views as to the need for and value of this project.

One difference in this version is that it is recommended that other ISBDs be used before the ISBD(ER) when the resource has aspects requiring the use of more than one ISBD.

A number of definitions in 0.2 have been deleted as not needing to be defined within the ISBD(ER), and several definitions have been moved from Appendix C.

Appendix C has been replaced by examples only. The list of SMDs has been deleted and most of the definitions. Some of the examples in area 5 use "conventional terminology" for the SMDs.

Stipulation 0.5 has been changed to make the chief source of information the resource itself for both direct- and remote-access resources. The vote among members of the Review Group from several choices was very close, and this was the choice preferred by the consultant on the ISBD(ER). This seems also to be what is in AACR2 (and therefore what a lot of cataloguers in the world are already using). We look forward to hearing what choice is preferred by participants in the world-wide review.

The Review Group would also very much appreciate contributions of examples to illustrate the particular provisions in ISBD(ER). Composite examples for consideration for inclusion in Appendix C would also be most welcome as would be comments on the examples that are provided in this version for review.

The text itself is presented as a draft for world-wide review.

Comments to:
Ms Dorothy McGarry
P.O.Box 931119
Los Angeles, CA 90093-1119
USA
Tel: +1-310-8250794
Fax: +1-310-2069872
E-mail: dmcgarry@library.ucla.edu

Thank you for participating in the world-wide review process.
John Byrum, Chair, ISBD Review Group
E-mail: jbyr@loc.gov